You are:

ROA Awards presented for 2014

PrestonsThe Preston Family & Friends – whose star horse is champion two-mile steeplechaser Sire De Grugy – have been chosen as racehorse ‘Owner of the Year’ for 2014.

The accolade, from the Racehorse Owners Association, was made on Thursday evening at the 33rd annual Horseracing Awards, sponsored by Weatherbys Bank, at London’s InterContinental Hotel.

The award was collected by the partnership (right) whose eight-year-old horse, the winner of the Tingle Creek Chase, Queen Mother Champion Chase and Celebration Chase in the last 12 months, was also voted ‘Outstanding Chaser’.

The Sire De Grugy story is one about success for a smaller owner. Businessman Steve Preston was given £2,000 by friends and family towards buying a first racehorse as part of a 50th birthday present. He had always dreamed of owning a horse, and so pooled further funds and asked various trainers if they would buy him one and take a share. Gary Moore grasped the opportunity and bought Sire De Grugy in France for 50,000 euros.

The Khalid Abdullah-owned Kingman, the five-time Group One winner and whose sole career defeat was when runner-up in the 2000 Guineas, was voted by ROA members as ‘Horse of the Year’ as well as ‘Outstanding Miler’.

Dual Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe winner Treve retained her 2013 triumphs as ‘Outstanding Middle Distance Horse’ and ‘Outstanding Filly and Mare’ for owners Al Shaqab Racing.

Two awards were presented in memory of former ROA Council members who passed away this year.

The Flat Special Achievement Award was given in memory of Sir Eric Parker, who also served as ROA President from 1998 to 2001, and went to Al Kazeem, owned by John Deer.

The National Hunt Special Achievement Award, presented in memory of Toby Balding, went to cross country race specialist and Grand National runner-up Balthazar King, owned by The Brushmakers.

‘Outstanding Hurdler’ was Champion Hurdle winner Jezki, owned by JP McManus, while ‘Outstanding Novice Hurdler’ was Faugheen, owned by Susannah Ricci.

The ‘Outstanding Novice Chaser’ award was given to Cheltenham Festival winner Taquin De Seuil, owned by Martin Broughton and Friends.

On the Flat, the ‘Outstanding Sprinter’ was King’s Stand Stakes and Nunthorpe Stakes winner Sole Power, with owner Sabena Power being presented with the award.

‘Outstanding Juvenile’ was Cheveley Park Stakes heroine Tiggy Wiggy, owned by Potensis Limited, Chris Giles and Merriebell.

St Leger winner Kingston Hill was voted ‘Outstanding Stayer’, with owner Paul Smith on hand to receive the award, while the Season Holiday-owned Captain Cat received the honour as ‘Outstanding All Weather Horse’.

Full awards list: 

  • Weatherbys Bank Horse of the Year: Kingman
  • Racing Post Owner of the Year: The Preston Family & Friends
  • Special Achievement Flat in memory of Sir Eric Parker: Al Kazeem
  • Special Achievement Jump in memory of Toby Balding: Balthazar King
  • Premier Corporate Mail Outstanding Novice Hurdler: Faugheen
  • Racing UK Outstanding Hurdler: Jezki
  • Thoroughbred Owner & Breeder Outstanding Novice Chaser: Taquin De Seuil
  • Channel 4 Racing Outstanding Chaser: Sire De Grugy
  • Tattersalls Outstanding Juvenile: Tiggy Wiggy
  • Cheval Court Stud Outstanding Sprinter: Sole Power
  • Betfair Outstanding Miler: Kingman
  • Great British Racing International Outstanding Middle Distance Horse: Treve
  • Irish Racing Yearbook Outstanding Stayer: Kingston Hill
  • Darley Outstanding Filly and Mare: Treve
  • ARC Outstanding All Weather Horse: Captain Cat

5 December 2014

Return to News Listings



Racehorse Owners Association
1st floor, 75 High Holborn, London, WC1V 6LS

Telephone: 020 7152 0200

Facebook   linkedin   twitter   youtube

Race Horse Trader New

Racing Breaks 250

© Copyright 2019 Racehorse Owners Association