You are:

Board election announced

2017 Board election winnersAlan Spence, who has been a racehorse owner for 45 years, topped the poll of 12 candidates in this year’s election to the Board of the ROA.

Also successful were Sally Bethell, who was re-elected for another term having joined the Board for the first time in 2013, while Sam Hoskins – the manager of Kennet Valley Thoroughbred and Hot To Trot Racing - was elected for the first time.

Alan Spence (left) said: “I am delighted to have been elected to the Board of the ROA. I intend to draw on my experience as an owner to support the Board and the members of the ROA in ensuring that our views and requirements are fully represented, and that racehorse ownership continues to prosper.”

Sally Bethell (centre) said: “I am delighted to be reappointed to the ROA Board and my sincere thanks to all those members who voted for me. I will continue to work hard for all owners, especially those based in the North of England, be they sole owners or syndicate members.”

Sam Hoskins (right) said: “I am honoured to be elected onto the ROA Board and I am looking forward to representing all owners under both codes, from owner/breeders who have multiple horses in training to those involved in syndicate ownership. The latter is a sector that I know well from my day to day role as a syndicate manager and it is a growing area that has considerable potential for British racing.”

ROA President Nicholas Cooper said: “I would like to offer my congratulations to the three successful candidates. I warmly welcome Alan Spence and Sam Hoskins who are joining the Board for the first time, while Sally Bethell will be continuing to make her valuable contribution after being re-elected.

“I would like to thank the other nine candidates who stood in this keenly contested election but were unsuccessful on this occasion. I hope that they will consider putting themselves forward again next year.

“We also express profound gratitude and bid a fond farewell to Professor David Silk who stands down from the Board after a 12-year stint. David has brought a special blend of knowledge, enthusiasm and humour to board meetings and, as such, he will be greatly missed.”

The election results were announced at the ROA’s Annual General Meeting held in London on Tuesday 4th July.

The finishing order in the election, overseen by Electoral Reform Services, was:

  • Alan Spence (618 votes)
  • Sally Bethell (598)
  • Sam Hoskins (517)
  • Celia Djivanovic
  • Emma Berry
  • Paul Brocklehurst
  • Alan Crombie
  • Tony Gale
  • David Ashley
  • Derek Coles
  • Donald Clark
  • Rob Jones

4 July 2017

Return to News Listings



Racehorse Owners Association
1st floor, 75 High Holborn, London, WC1V 6LS

Telephone: 020 7152 0200

Facebook   linkedin   twitter   youtube

Race Horse Trader New

Racing Breaks 250

© Copyright 2018 Racehorse Owners Association