ROA Racecourse Accreditation Scheme

The pinnacle of racehorse ownership is going racing with a runner. The raceday experience should be an enjoyable one, and many racecourses offer owners with a runner an unforgettable day.

The ROA Racecourse Accreditation Scheme was introduced in 2019 and rewards racecourses who achieve a minimum standard of performance. 

The ROA Racecourse Accreditation Scheme is assessed by AA Hospitality Services, who provide an independent and objective assessment of the raceday experience across all racecourses (Newmarket Rowley Mile and July courses are assessed separately).  The assessment measures over 50 aspects of the raceday, applying a number of criteria including:

  • Prize money metrics
  • Pre-Raceday Communications
  • Arrival
  • Staff
  • Owners & Trainers facilities
  • Syndicate provisions
  • Food and drink
  • Post-race Experience

All assessment areas are graded 1-5, and converted to a % score and accreditation is awarded on the achievement of a qualifying minimum percentage.  

Racecourses achieving an accreditation score of over 80% are to be assessed separately.  The top performing racecourses will then also receive recognition via an ROA Gold Standard Award, after the following aspects have been considered: 

  • Accreditation scores
  • Feedback received from Owners

The full criteria for the 2024 Racecourse Accreditation can be found here:

2024 ROA Racecourse Assessment Criteria.pdf 2




19 February 2024

ROA Racecourse Accreditation 2023

31 courses have received the Gold Standard for 2023

01 February 2023

ROA Racecourse Accreditation 2022

12 courses attaining the ROA’s Gold Standard award for 2022.